Two Migrations going on - different Latin learning plans and different online hosting.

I moved away from Ora Maritima and over to Benjamin D’Ooge’s lesser known textbook Elements of Latin.

I’m considering moving away from Github in light of Microsoft’s purchase and looking at alternatives which seem very attractive. One unforeseen advantage of Gitlab is the possibility of hosting our own family instance for kids to learn without having to meet a minimum age requirement.

It turns out a little more tricky than I expected. A simple import of a repo doesn’t actually build the website although I’m using the default Jekyll template without much fiddling. I tried copying across the .gitlab-ci.yml from the equivalent gitlab template, but since the website is in the gh-pages branch that needed fiddling. Tried ripping that out and enabling AutDevOps, but that wanted a Rakefile.

Actually found a useful article from a few years ago describing a similar transition and that gave a link to the relevant instructions so I think I might be getting there.

If you can read this, then I’ve probably figured it out.